A viewer’s guide to English casters worldwide (With notes about French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean casts).

For the last few months i think everybody has been noticing the increased “diversity” of remarks about casters so I thought I put together a small guide to the casters around the world.  I watch a lot of league but I don’t know all the casters but I’ll do my best to include everybody I know about but hopefully if people only watch the casters they enjoy the less “diverse” comments will be seen. I am an English speaker with 5 years of Spanish education 2 years of French and I’m learning Chinese presently.  For languages that are not English I don’t know the individual names of casters just what the tournaments were Casted. Maybe some of the reader’s will be able to add some caster’s names in the comments below.

NA LCS:

Phreak – Long time player and now caster.  I think his casting is fun and energetic and keeps everybody watching involved in the game no matter how boring it is.  Some of his puns miss their mark but no matter how many puns miss he is sure consistent and always be back for more.  He is knowledgeable about game fundamentals and many times adds depth to the discussions about league strategy during the games.  He does stream and Actually find his stream very enjoyable and lots of tips can be given.   Admits mistakes and always trying to improve (Sometimes he misses item buys and talks about how someone just bought an item and how its going to help when they bought it 10minutes ago; It’s minor but i find it annoying).   He casts but his home is in front of huge monitor as he John Madden’s league.

Jatt – Ex pro one of the best casters.  I find how he does his hair is a little weird sometimes.  A little bit nit-picky there.  Always casts well and always explains everything.  Goes very in depth to league strategy and makes good chit chat with every caster he is paired up with.  I don’t find him as the best interviewer though and should let others do that for him (Only because interviewers are more about personal stuff more than actual game strategy).

Kobe24- Not my personal favorite but he is a good caster.  Makes good talk and sometimes makes good remark about why players are making decisions.  He is much better at looking at each lane and describing how players are going to win their lane than looking at the entire game and overall game strategy.  This different than other casters and one reason why i like kobe.

Rivington – Knows a lot about the game but I find that sometimes doesn’t communicate his knowledge as he casts.  Otherwise very good and I find he pairs best with Jatt.

For entertaiment watch Phreak and Kobe but for in-depth game knowledge  watch Jatt and Riv 3.

EU LCS:
Deman, Quickshot (?), Jason Kaplan, Joe “Joe Miller” Miller.

Deman: I think I can label him as the most fun caster and he also uses “diverse” language and it just makes him better.  He’s good at making awkward situations more awkward and then somehow bringing the cast back with a perfect comment.  He knows so much about league and is able to communicate all of his thoughts clearly.

Quickshot: I find him entertaining and fun and very similar to Deman.  His casting is very good but for some reason I enjoy him even more when he is at the analyst desk looking at the games after they have happened and he gives some really good insight into the match.  He makes some points that are often missed from the NA LCS group.

Jason: Gives some good insight and I think he is very close to phreak in his casting and that can be a good or a bad thing depending on what you like.  Doesn’t really go above and beyond but do a decent job everytime he is casting.

Joe Miller: Great casting along with great conversation.  I think he is great as a caster and adds and expands to the depth of the conversation about whatever the team’s strategy is but I rarely find that he comes up with the starter comment and that he doesn’t come up with the stuff himself.  However, this doesn’t detract from his casting ability has he excels in all other aspects of being part of a casting team.

If you want to watch

NA:
Optimus Tom (MLG) – I think Optimus is maybe one of the casters in which viewers really like him or they really don’t.  Either way you look at it, I think he is the best solo caster out there however this is also his detriment.  He’s the best solo-caster because he talks enough for 2 people.  I think that he is speaking spanish but is talking in english.  I made a note that sometimes phreak along with other casts miss some items and miss some moves.  Top almost never misses anything and I know this since he tells us every possible thing that is happening on the map.  One again, some people find this bad others good.  I think that tom just needs to tweak his casting a little by slowing down and conversing with other people and asking questions to his co-caster and allowing them to expand on a point he brought up.  Only other thing.  Tom, go to the store.  Buy a new suit and PLEASE GET IT TAILORED.

Studio (tsm tournies ??)  — Wombat (TSM tournies ??) —
I think both of these guys are similar and both of them are nothing special.  Sure they can cast but I don’t get excited when I know they’re casting.  I’m not going to turn on stream just because they are casting.  Maybe it their voices which make everything seem boring and uninteresting but there’s more than that.  I find that both say stuff that is extremely obvious and even when they try and talk about strategy it’s all stuff that I feel is just blah, nothing insightful and anybody who has any league sense was thinking the same thing 5 minutes before.

Dominate Dominion Casters
Not the best casters but I think they will soon be very good.  One is their outlook and how they know they’re not the best but they are always willing to ask for help and see where they can better.  Also they have now been casting for about a year on Dominate dominion and I think they’re improved quiet drastically.  I know they like dominion more than rift but I would really like for them to cast some games of rift in a tournament setting.  I think they are the best casters for teamfights and they really showcase the important abilities in the fights unlike tom who says every ability and other casters that barely say anything.

EU:
German Casters:
I know one word of German So I can’t give much input even though all the games sound extremely exciting though I have zero idea what they’re talking about.

French:
The only french casts that I watch are the AAA casts and these are good.  I think the team fights are great in french and I think the commentary about the strategy is quite good.  I’m sure all the francophone’s already know but these are some good casts.

Spanish :
I’ve seen a few of the Spanish tournies and they are good some good stuff.  Sometimes some of the insight into the given matches are totally different than what I would expect and sometimes its very informative.  Maybe it’s the language different language but I they are fun and the games are good.   Also, they’re are some some South American tournaments with some Chilean teams.  From the few that I’ve watched these were some great games and some great casting.

Asia
Pastrytime (SWL / ESL Asia) Papasmithy  (SWL / ESL Asia)
The two above duo cast with each other so I’ll talk about both of them together.  First off, unlike many of the other casters above I’ve only ever seen these two together or sometimes solo casting if the other can’t attend.  However, they are always so good together.  Now as we have all found that twitch chat in NA, EU games that its a bunch of trash.  However, due to the time difference and limited viewership, twitch chat is great and these casters answer questions from chat and communicate with the viewers.  I find that they have some really good insight into the games but also have really good back and forth talk about strategy, team positions, along with team history last matches.   I find they talk about previous league matches even other tournament games and really prepare for the matches they are casting.  These are always my favorite fair of casters to watch and learn from.  I hope they continue doing the same and only get better.

montecristo (OGN korea) DOA (OGN Korea)
Well they’ve been a part of the best league scene for a long time and they know it, and they act like it (for good or for worse).  However, they’re great casters and they know the Korean/Chinese scene like no other.  These two go into more depth about strategy than even Jatt/Deman only because the Asian scene allows for this while NA/EU scene does not.  They always explain why players are doing what they are doing (Something that I like about Kobe as well).  They have very good banter between themselves and fill in all the spots of downtime very well (I don’t find them very humorous but who am I to judge, lots of people like their jokes so plus for them).  They do have one advantage over all other casters and that’s how scared the viewers are when that Korean Countdown starts and I’ve got the sound on high (SURPRISE).  I think for many viewers at least from the US who decided to stay up one night may watch them once and not really grasp everything they talk about and then don’t have a reason to stay up again.  However, I don’t think casting for the lowest common denominator is good either.  Hopefully, more people watch them and learn a little more about league as they do.

Chobra (OGN Korea, mlg)
Personally I like Chobra more than Montercristo/DoA but not for a reason I can put down on paper.  He’s smart and entertaining and maybe if he talked more I could form a more substantial opinion on him.

GPL casters (english – taiwan)
I think these are the last main group of English casters that I watch on a consistent basis.  Let’s be honest the GPL games can be somewhat frustrating to watch, but some games can super exciting.  Maybe this is due to large skill gap between the teams.  Also, I believe that these casters don’t have English as their first language really limits some of the fill in conversation and humor that other casters bring to the table.  However, they have good insight and really talk in what I would say most straight forward.  example: “It looks the like there moving to dragon” Second caster” And here’s why and how its an opportune moment”.  Easy to listen too and provide a really good amount of overall league knowledge to the viewer.  However, I’ll admit that they don’t go as in-depth with strategy as other casters.

One thing we have to note is the time.  Who is watching the asian scene in english, mostly australians and Europe(?) and a few North Americans who have nothing better to do.  For the most part everybody who actually watches, on a consistent basis, any of the Asian Casts likes them.  I actually want to watch OGN, SWL not just for the good games but also the casters as they provide more than some of their EU/NA counterparts.

Lastly, Korean and Chinese casts are fun to watch even though I don’t know everything they’re saying I sure its insightful and they are great people.  Also I find the Chinese girls casting and walking around at LPL quite attractive.  On the other hand Phreak and his puns are also very attractive.

So viewers what are you looking for in a caster? (Aside from the games)

Entertainment: Phreak, Kobe, Joe Miller, Pastrytime, DoA

In depth Game Knowledge: Montercristo, Jatt, Deman, Quickshot

Improving your game with some easy to follow tips: Chobra, GPL, Optimus Tom, Joe Miller

Saturday Night and you’re drunk and its 4am: KOREA KOREA KOREA (Korean is just a much better shout casting language than Chinese or English, I find that Spanish/french work just as well as korean).

Sunday Morning and you’re hungover but you don’t want to feel lonely: Optimus Tom, Studio, Wombat

Are you a girl (or boy) and you don’t care about League but like a french accent:  Go find Aranae doing some analyst.

Like some straight hair and easy to understand analyst: Krepo is your man.

Just for Fun and a great twitch chat to actually talk about the game: Dominate Dominion

My personal taste in streams: Phreak gives some really good knowledge when he streams.  Also Jaeyoong (?) Has some awesome mechanics and for the most part has very consistent play (more easy to emulate than other players). Lastly, scarra’s stream is quite informative as well and admits when he make mistakes and learning from his mistakes allows the viewer to get better as well.

~Proto

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A viewer’s guide to English casters worldwide (With notes about French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean casts).

  1. Virtle says:

    Thing you forgot about Quikshot, he is a master of ability and item names. He will know the name of ability in the game, that is why Deman sometimes says “Thank god Quikshot isn’t here” when he forgets the name of an ability.

Leave a Reply

